> Home
> Road Diairies
> Photos

> Tricks
> Nature
> Cultures and traditions
> Working overseas
> Who are we
> F.A.Q.
> Contact us
> Our partners
> Press
> Useful links

 

Newsletter

Regularly receive messages from Caroline and Patrick.

To log in, simply type your e-mail address and validate.


Français

 

COSTA RICAN JUNGLE

Serpent fer-de-lance dans la jungle du Costa Rica

Fer-de-lance
This poisonous snake, which is lethal for men, can reach a length of 2 meters. Spread between Mexico and Tropical South America, we find it in forests and in farm fields where preys abound. Birds, small rodents and other reptiles are part of its menu. It is called lancehead because of the resemblance its head has with a spearhead.

According to the Encarta Encyclopaedia, the fer_de_lance’s poison contains hemotoxins, which destroys red blood cells and the walls of blood vessel, provoking inner haemorrhage and oedemas, along with anticoagulant substances. Many components of its poison are used in the fabrication of anticoagulant medicine.

 
Papillon morpho

Morpho
Perfectly camouflaged when its wings are folded up, the morpho shows off all its grandness with its metallic blue wings, easily noticeable in a dense forest. Many species are threatened of extinction, because it is prized by collectors and by the intensive deforestation of its habitat.

Papillon morpho
 

Dendrobate
Dressed with dazzling colors, this small frog, which is not longer than 5 cm, exudes a toxin by the skin that protects it from predators by burning and paralysing their mouths. The poison produced by this amphibian is used by Indians for hunting. The head of their arrows dipped in this toxin is however not enough to intoxicate preys’ consumer. We find the dendrobate in the dense forests of Latin America.

Grenouille toxique, dendrobate

 
Mante religieuse

Praying Mantis
The only insect capable of turning its head laterally, the female has the particularity of eating the male after mating. It uses its two front legs to grab preys, which are generally other insects. We find it in tropical and temperate regions across the world.

Mante religieuse
 

Paresseux du Costa Rica

Sloths
Slow in its movements, the sloth descends on the ground about once a week for urinating and defecating. Once on the soil, it has great difficulty moving, it has to crawl on its back. The formation of green alga on its fur allows it to mix up with trees, where it passes most of its time. This way, it is safe from its main predator, the jaguar. Again according to the Encarta Encyclopaedia, the giant land sloth, which lived more than ten thousand years ago, was the same height of an elephant.
ADVERTISEMENTS

> Accueil
> Carnet de route
> Photos

> Trucs et astuces
> Nature
> Cultures et traditions
> Travail à l'étranger
> Qui sommes-nous
> Questions fréquentes> Conférences et exposition
> Contactez-nous
> Nos partenaires
> Coin de presse
> Liens utiles

 

Infolettre

Recevez régulièrement des messages de Caroline et Patrick.

Pour vous inscrire, saisissez votre adresse de courriel et validez.


Politique d'envoi

English

 

JUNGLE DU COSTA RICA

Serpent fer-de-lance dans la jungle du Costa Rica

Fer-de-lance
Ce serpent venimeux, dont la morsure est fatale pour l’homme, peut atteindre une longueur de 2 m. Réparti entre le sud du Mexique et l’Amérique du Sud tropicale, on le retrouve en forêt et dans les champs agricoles où ses proies abondent. Oiseaux, petits rongeurs et autres reptiles composent son menu. On le nomme fer-de-lance dû à la ressemblance entre sa tête triangulaire et la pointe d’une lance.

Selon l’encyclopédie Encarta, le venin du fer-de-lance contient des hémotoxines qui détruisent les globules rouges et les parois des vaisseaux sanguins, provoquant hémorragies internes et œdèmes, ainsi que des substances anticoagulantes. Plusieurs constituants de son venin sont utilisés pour la préparation de médicaments anticoagulants.
 
Papillon morpho

Morpho
Parfaitement camouflé lorsque ses ailes sont repliées, le morpho déploie toute sa splendeur avec ses ailes d’un bleu métallique qui se remarque facilement dans une forêt dense. Plusieurs espèces sont menacées d’extinction, car ce dernier est prisé par les collectionneurs et par la déforestation intensive de son habitat.

Papillon morpho
 

Dendrobate
Habillée de couleurs éclatantes, cette petite grenouille, qui ne dépasse pas les 5 cm, sécrète par la peau une toxine qui la protège de ses prédateurs en brûlant et paralysant leur gueule. Le poison émis par ce petit amphibien est utilisé par les Indiens lors de la chasse. La pointe de leur flèche trempée de cette toxine n’est toutefois pas suffisante pour intoxiquer le consommateur du gibier. Elle peuple les denses forêts de l’Amérique latine.

Grenouille toxique, dendrobate

 
Mante religieuse

Mante religieuse
Seul insecte capable de tourner sa tête latéralement, la femelle a la particularité de manger le mâle après l’accouplement. Ses deux pattes avant lui servent à agripper ses proies qui sont généralement d’autres insectes. On la retrouve dans les régions tropicales et tempérées du monde entier.

Mante religieuse
 

Paresseux du Costa Rica

Paresseux
Lent dans ses mouvements, le paresseux descend au sol environ qu’une fois par semaine pour uriner et déféquer. Une fois à terre, il se déplace de peine et misère en rampant sur le dos. La formation d’algues vertes sur son poil lui permet de se confondre avec l’arbre où il passe la majeure partie de son temps pour se nourrir. Ainsi, il reste à l’abri de son principal prédateur, le jaguar. Toujours selon l’encyclopédie Encarta, le paresseux géant terrestre, vivant il y a plus de dix mille ans, atteignait la taille d'un éléphant.
PUBLICITÉS